Looking forward

Each morning I wake up, and there isn’t that much to look forward to. Later when I get to work, I look forward to the end of the ward round so that I can sit down. When that’s done, I look forward to lunch or coffee (rarely both), if it happens. In the afternoon I look forward to going home. Every night I look forward to sleeping. Each weekday I look forward to it being the weekend, if I’m not rostered on. Each week I look forward to finishing my rotation, or starting my holidays. Then the cycle begins again. That’s also why mornings are the worst.

I guess the value of hope is knowing you won’t be stuck standing up for a long long time, or doing what you don’t enjoy, or interacting with people you don’t like, or being unhappy, forevermore. That there is a defined end, which you do want to get to, and that motivates you to keep jogging along. But even looking forward to say, my annual leave, or the end of a year long contract, is rather short sighted and doesn’t give much hope to live by. It’s like being a hamster in its wheel. By the way, it mystifies me why my rodents never, ever, run on their wheel. Maybe they are too smart for that!

3 Comments

  1. Well at least your not looking forward to sleeping every morning when you wake up. :P

    But more seriously, you’re always working towards the longer term, whether that be progressing with personal relationships, getting a better job, buying a fast car or simply living life according to principles you believe in.

    .

    Reply

Leave a comment

