Sheep

The seats are uncomfortable, the cabin air is dry and stale, my feet and hands are uncomfortably puffy. But I like plane trips. I like being able to sleep continuously. Then, when I can sleep no more, spend what feels like an unlimited amount of time reading, praying, or thinking. I always fear, a bit, that something terrible will happen. Yet in a way, I don’t mind being reminded of my mortality every time the wheels leave the safety of solid ground.

Especially after longer holidays, I often wonder whether the anticipation of a trip is worthwhile the extra effort required to settle back into daily life. It feels like you’re borrowing tomorrow’s happiness, rather than there being any net gain.

But anyway, this song based on Psalm chapter 23 was the one I thought of as I departed. In thankfulness for the rest God gives. For a breather at the end of several long working weeks – the physical time and space away, and the reminder again (I tend to forget very quickly in busyness and my dislike for work) as I see a colleague being admitted to coronary care, that what we do matters to people and should matter to us. That afternoon, I was thankful also for God’s goodness in bringing me to a place of rest, with family this year. On my way back, I thought of the song too. Leaving with the prospect of a long-ish weekend and time with friends, is quite different from returning with some sadness and a heavier heart. That changes the mood of the song. But I do believe the words are unchanging and true, of his guidance, and provision for each of us who are his sheep.

The Lord’s My Shepherd – Stuart Townend

The Lord’s my shepherd, I’ll not want;
He makes me lie in pastures green.
He leads me by the still, still waters,
His goodness restores my soul.

He guides my ways in righteousness,
And He anoints my head with oil,
And my cup, it overflows with joy,
I feast on His pure delights.

And though I walk the darkest path,
I will not fear the evil one,
For You are with me, and Your rod and staff
Are the comfort I need to know.

And I will trust in You alone,
And I will trust in You alone,
For Your endless mercy follows me,
Your goodness will lead me home.

One Comment

  1. […] views of the day, or deep blackness of the night, and the remote but real possibility of falling out of the sky altogether, is a humbling reminder of how small and limited we are. This, with no phone or Wi-Fi […]

    Reply

Leave a comment

