Night lights

I’m sadly coming to the end of my time in the “bachelor” hut (purposely misspelt), of living in an eerily quiet street and having a house with a pool and big backyard all to myself. When I first came, I would drag my feet along unenthusiastically to take out the rubbish on a dark night. Then, as I stepped out onto the gravel driveway, the clear night sky invariably caught me by surprise.

I would stop and stare for awhile, at the sky so close, the normally elusive milky way glowing softly and mysteriously, the stars bright and numerous against a dark canvas. Needless to say I didn’t mind taking out the rubbish after awhile. Sometimes too, driving along the dark highway I had to stop myself from tilting my head upwards to look at the stars instead of focusing on the road. I guess our fascination with little stars doesn’t end when we’ve grown out of nursery rhymes. I have also been watching the moon, cycling though it’s phases, from a curved slither, to a seemingly artificially cut semicircle, to my favourite bright round cheese (credits to my sister for the description) over the horizon. But when the moon is big and bright, the stars shy away and hide.

Seems like I’m recycling topics in my writing! From a post several years ago on stars: “I think it’s a natural response to praise the wonders so big, so grand, that we did not create and cannot create. Whether we praise God, or evolution, or mother nature…” As for me, I’m reminded of an amazing God.

The heavens declare the glory of God; the skies proclaim the work of his hands. Day after day they pour forth speech; night after night they reveal knowledge. They have no speech, they use no words; no sound is heard from them. Yet their voice goes out into all the earth, their words to the ends of the world… Psalms 19:1-4

For my time here, I guess the natural night lights are more than adequate substitutes for the amber city lights, the tall buildings, and their shimmering reflections across the waters. Both here and there, night lights are always beautiful but not without an air, a breeze, of pensive sadness.

5 Comments

  1. I still am impressed by the sheer number of stars you could see at Wodonga and Beechworth, when you don’t have city lights hiding them. I think we are privileged to experience such awe but you still wonder what other amazing things in this world are being hidden from us.

    I was going to claim that I don not praise evolution in the same way that people praise God. But I guess I do marvel at the elegance of science.

    Reply

    1. Okay, I should probably add “or other…” to the list of possibilities of things / persons we can praise or admire haha. By the way, what sort of hidden wonders did you have in mind? I guess there are lots of things we don’t see around here too, like auroras which I’ve always wanted to see!

      Reply

      1. I didn’t have anything in particular in mind. I guess there are things such as the wonders of the world, which you have been told are amazing and you would like to see but also just as I wasn’t expecting to be amazed by stars in Beechworth I’m sure there are other things just around the corner which are just waiting to be discovered.

      2. Yeah the night sky that time was pretty amazing..! I guess sometimes you get disappointed by wonders you’ve heard about, and sometimes you find wonders in unexpected places. Tell me about your discoveries when you find them then haha.

  2. Hi, sister. Nice to see you here. This is my first translation work in this blog. I realize your writings here can be harder for me to translate than the 12 chapters’ quack tails. Now I feel more challenging and exciting. I will keep practicing translation in this new battle field. Anyway, I admire your literature level and depth of your thought. I think what I learn is more than I expected. Like in this article, I have learn some ways to depict the sky, stars and moon in English. I think I can applied them to my future English writing. Oh yeah.

    夜光

    在Bachelor(我故意将这个词拼错),我生活在一个异常宁静的小街上。我所住的房子有一个私人的游泳池和很大的后院。这里的生活即将结束,我的心中多少有些不舍。记得我刚来这里时,在漆黑的夜晚,我会迈着承重的步伐,不情愿地到户外倒垃圾。当我的脚踏上砾石的车道时,晴朗的夜空总会给我带来意外的惊喜。

    我会忍不住停下脚步,花一些时间注视夜空。只见平日难以捉摸的银河闪闪发光,是那么的温柔和神秘。群星璀璨,与夜空中的那条黑幔形成鲜明的对比。不用说,面对如此景色,我决定把倒垃圾的事先放一边。有时候我驾车行驶在深夜的高速路上,我要努力让自己的注意力集中在马路上,否则就会被星空所吸引,情不自禁的抬起头。虽然我们早已不听关于星星的童谣,但点点繁星依然让我们着迷。我也喜欢赏月,喜欢看它的阴晴圆缺。从一个弯弯的月牙,变成好似手工切割的半圆,最后再成为我最喜欢的圆形”奶酪“(这是我妹妹对满月的称呼),高悬在地平线上。面对那轮又大又亮的满月,群星不免黯然失色。

    我写作时似乎喜欢炒冷饭。记得几年前我就曾如此描写星星:“面对如此壮阔,非人手所能造的奇观,谁都会从发出由衷地赞美,不论我们赞美的是上帝,进化论还是大自然的力量。。。。。。对我而已,我想到的是神的奇妙作为。

    诸天述说神的荣耀;弯苍传扬他的手段。这日到那日发出言语;这夜到那夜传出只是。无言无语,也无声可听。它的量带通遍天下,它的言语传到地极。(诗篇19:1-4)

    在这里的时光让我更加体会到,自然的夜光足以取代琥玻色的城市的灯火,高楼大厦以及它们在水中闪烁的倒影。不论是这里还是那里,自然的夜光总是那么美丽。与之相伴的,则是空气,微风和沉思的悲伤。

    Reply

Leave a comment

