An anthology

Whilst I’m glad for God to be God of my life most of the time, there’s a few specific areas that I don’t really trust him with – that I want to hold onto tightly and not let go. I suppose every follower of God has a similar experience, although the object of our idolatry may differ. Instead of thankfulness sometimes I wonder if God is hiding away good gifts. Going ahead with what I want to do seems more attractive than waiting patiently on God’s guidance for I don’t know how long. I don’t want to give up what is close to my heart, and fail to recognise that all that we have is from him to begin with. When I’m sad or tired I feel that maybe he doesn’t see, doesn’t know or doesn’t care. God’s kingdom is often not the centre of my focus, and even if it is, I’m easily distracted and turn to other things. I don’t do what is right, and even if I do, I do it grudgingly. When the future is uncertain, when things don’t make sense, I’m not that certain if God is in control.

I came across the song 我的一生在祢手中 (My Life Is In Your Hands) and whilst thinking over it, many other songs and verses came to mind. So I’ve broken up the lyrics of this song into sections, compiling it with lyrics from other songs, together with some verses that I’ve thought about or jotted down in my reading in the past year or so, as an anthology, or medley of sorts. To remind myself of things to think about in the many times when I’m the opposite of everything these songs proclaim. In the meantime, God, forgive my mistrust and be gracious and patient with me..!

1. Being thankful, giving praise and counting our blessings

在主面前,细细数算神的恩典
我才明了,你的奇妙带领

“我的心 你要称颂耶和华 不可忘记祂的恩惠
祂赦免你一切过犯罪孽 医冶你疾病复原” – 我的心你要称颂耶和华

“Thanks, O God, for boundless mercy
From Thy gracious throne above
Thanks for ev’ry need provided
From the fullness of Thy love” – Thanks To God

“All I have needed Thy hand hath provided —
Great is Thy faithfulness, Lord, unto me!” – Great is Thy Faithfulness

“You give and take away, you give and take away
My heart will choose to say, Lord blessed be Your name” – Blessed Be Your Name

“Count your many blessings, name them one by one,
And it will surprise you what the Lord hath done.” – Count Your Blessings

“Come thou fount of every blessing
Tune my heart to sing Thy grace” – Come Thou Fount

“When you have eaten and are satisfied, praise the Lord your God for the good land he has given you.” – Deuteronomy 8:10

“Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.” – 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

2. Waiting for God’s guidance and walking on his path

我等候,愿能摸着你的心意
未来的路,愿走在你旨意中

“疲乏的他赐能力,软弱的他加力量,
等候耶和华必从新得力” – 如鹰展翅上腾

“In His time, in his time
He Makes all things beautiful
In His time” – In His Time

“Cover me with Your hand, and lead me in Your righteousness
And I look to You, and I wait on You” – Through It All

“The Lord is good to those whose hope is in him, to the one who seeks him; it is good to wait quietly for the salvation of the Lord.” – Lamentations 3:25-26

“Since we live by the Spirit, let us keep in step with the Spirit.” – Galatians 5:25

3. Sacrificing our desires and giving our life, our all

献上我最爱,在祭坛前不带走
带领我前往你所应许之地

“哦!主啊!求祢吸引我 带我进入祢圣洁居所,
让我今天为祢活,完全献上为活祭,奉献一生跟随祢” – 每天的祷告

“All to Jesus I surrender;
make me, Savior, wholly thine” – I Surrender All

“Lord, I give You my heart
I give You my soul, I live for You alone” – I Give You My Heart

“Things in the past, things yet unseen
Wishes and dreams that are yet to come true
All of my heart, all of my praise
My heart and my hands are lifted to You” – I Offer My Life

“Your will above all else, my purpose remains
The art of losing myself in bringing you praise” – From the Inside Out

“All I once thought gain I have counted loss
Spent and worthless now, compared to this” – All I Once Held Dear

“Now I know that you fear God, because you have not withheld from me your son, your only son.” – Genesis 22:12

“Therefore, I urge you, brothers and sisters, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and pleasing to God—this is your true and proper worship.” – Romans 12:1

“For to me, to live is Christ and to die is gain.” – Philippians 1:21

4. God in control, God with us through the storms

我的一生在你手中
惊涛骇浪主与我同在

“主你是我力量 主你是我高台
坚固磐石 我信靠你必不动摇” – 主你是我力量

“I will call upon Your name
Keep my eyes above the waves
My soul will rest in Your embrace
I am Yours and You are mine” – Oceans

“When peace like a river, attendeth my way,
When sorrows like sea billows roll;
Whatever my lot, Thou hast taught me to know,
It is well, it is well, with my soul” – It Is Well With My Soul

“And though I walk the darkest path,
I will not fear the evil one,
For You are with me, and Your rod and staff
Are the comfort I need to know.” – The Lord’s My Shepherd

“For you, Lord, have delivered me from death, my eyes from tears, my feet from stumbling” – Psalm 116:8

“Let us then approach God’s throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need.” – Hebrews 4:16

5. Fixing our eyes on Jesus and running the race

我的一生在你手中
勇敢前往向标杆直奔

“Turn your eyes upon Jesus,
Look full in His wonderful face,
And the things of earth will grow strangely dim,
In the light of His glory and grace” – Turn Your Eyes Upon Jesus

“Be thou my vision, O Lord of my heart,
be all else but naught to me, save that thou art” – Be Thou My Vision

“However, I consider my life worth nothing to me; my only aim is to finish the race and complete the task the Lord Jesus has given me — the task of testifying to the good news of God’s grace.” – Acts 20:24

“But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.” – Philippians 3:13-14

“And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us, fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith.” – Hebrews 12:1-2

6. Obeying and trusting his words
我的一生在你手中
甘心顺服得最终奖赏

“Teach us, Lord, full obedience,
Holy reverence, true humility;” – Speak O Lord

“Perfect submission, all is at rest,
I in my Savior am happy and blest” – Blessed Assurance

“But we never can prove
The delights of His love,
Until all on the altar we lay;
For the favor He shows,
And the joy He bestows,
Are for them who will trust and obey.” – Trust And Obey

“The precepts of the Lord are right, giving joy to the heart. The commands of the Lord are radiant, giving light to the eyes.” – Psalm 19:8

“Therefore everyone who hears these words of mine and puts them into practice is like a wise man who built his house on the rock.” – Matthew 7:24

“We know that we have come to know him if we keep his commands. Whoever says, “I know him,” but does not do what he commands is a liar, and the truth is not in that person. – 1 John 2:3-4

7. In God’s hands, knowing that his will prevails
我的一生在你手中
我深知道我的一生在你手中

“赏赐的在于你,收取的你必代替
神旨意不能拦阻,我心仍要赞美
凡事信靠主,不失去盼望
因为我的主仍然在掌权” – 沙漠中的赞美

“I know for sure all of my days are held in Your hand
Crafted into Your perfect plan” – The Potter’s Hand

“Many things about tomorrow,
I don’t seem to understand
But I know who holds tomorrow,
And I know who holds my hand” – I Know Who Holds Tomorrow

“Lord, I know that people’s lives are not their own; it is not for them to direct their steps.” – Jeremiah 10:23

“Your eyes saw my unformed body; all the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be.” – Psalms 139:16

“Your kingdom come, your will be done, on earth as it is in heaven.” – Matthew 6:10

4 Comments

  1. Woaw I love this song! Haven’t heard it since agessssss reminds me of the days when i first entered the world of praise & worship (from hymn books). ;) Love this post!!

    Reply

    1. Thanks Krijstelle, I think you know all the Chinese and English songs haha. We can make an endless medley next time for worship! :P

      Reply

  2. […] Friends who tell you about all sorts of love stories, and aren’t particularly interested in non-fiction. But these friendships are also the kind that come and go, lasting only as long as you are […]

    Reply

Leave a comment

