2015

A new theme

Changed over to a new theme for the first time since I started this blog! I also hope to better organise the content in the coming months given that the number of posts has expanded, and I can’t imagine any reader would have the patience to scroll through months and months of wordy posts.

A new category

“Growing up.” As I considered the year to come, I thought about this verse that had never really caught my attention before.

When I was a child, I spoke like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I gave up childish ways. – 1 Corinthians 13:11

Maybe it’s laughable that I feel like a child at all at this age. But despite being able to do the usual adult things, like working and taking care of myself, much of the time I still feel more like a girl than a woman. I think it’s time to make that transition in the way I see myself, in my thinking, in my roles and interactions with others. Even in a secular sense, there is a time and purpose for growing up, which is beautifully articulated in this article on “Why Growing Up Is Hard to Do (But Why the World Still Needs Adults)“. I don’t need to know too much about the “Art of Manliness” but it’s still a great website!

The verse above seems like an odd one after all the preceding ones on spiritual gifts and the greatest gift of love. But it makes more sense in the context of the following ones that speak of growing in the image of, and in the knowledge of God. Ordinary growing up and spiritual maturity can be completely different, but the ordinary has spiritual significance – and I think the two are really not too far apart when God is the one who walks with you along each stage of your life. As the song goes, for those who read Chinese:

在我人生的每一个台阶,在我人生的每一个小站
你的手总是在搀拉着我,把我带在你身边

– 主是我最知心的朋友

A new song

又是一年过去,一去再不回来;
转眼之间便改岁序,我当警醒在怀。
又是一年过去,一年人事完了;
诸般危险、诸般忧愁,心中再不缠拢。
又是一年去过,人生必定有死;
命数俱由我主旨意,我生或无多时。
又是一年过去,求将我罪赦免;
似箭光阴使我畏惧,末日如在眼前。
又是一年过去,更求使我日新,
此后惟有和主同居,诚心为主选民。

– 又是一年过去,頌主新歌515

Another year is gone, nor ever shall return,
Swift change of seasons bids me wake, new aims and duties learn.
Another year is gone, and all its mem’ries fade,
Its cares and dangers, sorrows too, are on His mercy laid.
Another year is gone, life’s end must come at last,
Our days are measured by His will, will soon my life be past?
Another year is gone, dear Lord, my sins forgive,
I view the fleeting days with awe, and ponder how to live.
Another year is gone, I pray for strength anew,
To live according to Thy will, eternity in view.

– Another Year Is Gone, New Songs of Praise 515
(to the tune of Blest Be The Ties That Bind)

Leave a comment

