Easter anthology

There are songs for every occasion, but I will write some non-songs related posts after this one! 

I’ve been a Christian for a long time, but am just starting to appreciate what it means for the cross to be central to the Christian faith. To appreciate what the cross says about God’s character of holiness and love, what it says about how God relates to us with in love and with grace, about how Jesus lived and how we are to live, and more. The link above sums it up pretty well, and there are good lengthy books on the topic too.

The last anthology of hymns could possibly be titled “Christian Living”. This list, on the other hand, help us to reflect upon the meaning of Jesus’ death and resurrection. I’m heartened to find a wealth of songs which proclaim gospel truths. Obviously there are a lot of overlap in terms of which category the songs best fit in…!

1. Good Friday: bearing our sins

The Power Of The Cross
This, the pow’r of the cross: Christ became sin for us;
Took the blame, bore the wrath – we stand forgiven at the cross.

Before The Throne Of God Above
Because the sinless Saviour died, my sinful soul is counted free
For God the Just is satisfied, to look on Him and pardon me

Nothing But The Blood
What can wash away our sins? What can make us whole again?
Nothing but the blood, nothing but the blood of Jesus

Behold the Lamb (Communion Hymn)
Behold the Lamb who bears our sins away,
Slain for us – and we remember
The promise made that all who come in faith
Find forgiveness at the cross.

Old Rugged Cross (古旧十架)
And I love that old cross where the Dearest and Best,
For a world of lost sinners was slain.

Jesus Paid It All (主替我捨身)
Jesus paid it all, all to Him I owe;
Sin had left a crimson stain, He washed it white as snow.

How Deep The Father’s Love For Us (深哉, 天父的爱)
Behold the Man upon a cross, my sin upon His shoulders
Ashamed I hear my mocking voice, call out among the scoffers

There Is A Fountain (有一血泉)
(The Chinese version of this song is also part of the next song on this list.)

There is a fountain filled with blood drawn from Emmanuel’s veins;
And sinners plunged beneath that flood lose all their guilty stains.

救赎的恩典
谢谢你为我死在十架上
破碎的生命得以完全
我感恩我敬拜 得医治得自由
都因你那救赎的恩典

因着十架爱
因祢受鞭伤我得医治, 因祢受刑罚我得平安
主啊我回转到祢面前,我要经历医治和平安

十架的爱
十架的爱 何等奇妙,超乎我所求所想
洗净我罪 脱离污秽,穿上公义洁白衣裳

2. Easter Sunday: hope and resurrection

Christ Is Risen
Christ is risen from the dead
Trampling over death by death
Come awake, come awake!
Come and rise up from the grave

See What A Morning
See, what a morning, gloriously bright,
With the dawning of hope in Jerusalem;
Folded the grave-clothes, tomb filled with light,
As the angels announce, “Christ is risen!”

Christ Is Risen, He Is Risen Indeed
Christ is risen, He is risen indeed!
Oh, sing hallelujah.
Join the chorus, sing with the redeemed;
Christ is risen, He is risen indeed.

Because He Lives I Can Face Tomorrow (因他活着)
Because He lives, I can face tomorrow,
Because He lives, all fear is gone;
Because I know He holds the future,
And life is worth the living, just because He lives!

In Christ Alone (耶稣基督)
Then bursting forth in glorious day,
Up from the grave He rose again!
And as He stands in victory,
Sin’s curse has lost its grip on me

Worthy Is The Lamb (神羔羊配得)
Worthy is the Lamb, seated on the throne
Crown You now with many crowns, You reign victorious

我的救赎主活着
我知道我的救赎者永远活著,我必不再忧虑
我要在每一个日夜中,领受他的丰盛之爱
当号角响起的那一天,我将见他荣光之面

3. Our assurance and response

At The Cross
At the cross I bow my knee
Where Your blood was shed for me
There’s no greater love than this
You have overcome the grave
Your glory fills the highest place
What can separate me now

The Wonderful Cross
Oh the wonderful Cross, oh the wonderful Cross
Bids me come and die and find that I may truly live
Oh the wonderful Cross, oh the wonderful Cross
All who gather here by grace, draw near and bless Your name

Alas! and did my Savior bleed
But drops of grief can ne’er repay, the debt of love I owe:
Here, Lord, I give my self away, ’tis all that I can do.

Once Again
And once again I look upon the cross where You died
I’m humbled by Your mercy and I’m broken inside
Once again I thank You, once again I pour out my life.

Jesus, Keep Me Near The Cross (十字架、十字架)
(I always thought this was an old Chinese hymn! The Chinese version of this song is also part of the next song on this list.)

In the cross, in the cross, be my glory ever;
Till my raptured soul shall find, rest beyond the river.

十字架是我的荣耀
十字架是我的荣耀 ,我向黑暗世界来宣告
十字架是我的荣耀,我蒙救赎恩典的记号

宝贵十架
宝贵十架的大能 赐我生命,
主耶稣 我俯伏敬拜祢
宝贵十架的救恩 是祢所立的约,
祢的爱不改变

爱 – 我愿意
十字架上的光芒,温柔又慈祥
带着主爱的力量,向着我照亮
我的心不再隐藏,完全地摆上
愿主爱来浇灌我,在爱中得自由释放

Leave a comment

