What good is it

In all my years at university, I sort of frowned upon people who pushed God aside, or had him on hold, until they finished their assessments. For people professing to be Christians, to be worshipping a great God, I thought the priorities should be obvious. Oh well, it’s clearer (and easy to judge) when it’s someone else’s struggles.

In how I approach work and stress now, age hasn’t made me wiser. In fact, I feel that at times the answers to these simple questions has become even more blurry – how can I set aside time for God when I’m busy? Can I come back to this later? Is it what God has given or is it what I’ve made with my own hands? What do I desire and why? What is my purpose and what are my priorities?

And here I ask again:

What good is it if I complete all this (and perhaps even do it well) but “forgot” to walk with God, and know him in the process?

“What good is it if someone gains the whole world but loses his soul?”

All I Once Held Dear (Knowing You)

All I once held dear, built my life upon
All this world reveres, and wars to own
All I once thought gain I have counted loss
Spent and worthless now, compared to this…

One Comment

  1. […] Earlier on he talks about the value of words of wisdom and proverbs given by the one Shepherd. Here, he warns against paying attention to anything in addition to these. I guess books always being written and studying making the body weary applies to both theology and philosophy, and any other field of study. Being tired physically and spiritually isn’t a good thing. […]

    Reply

Leave a comment

