Rhythm in chaos – part two

cupcakes

Courtesy of my sister and our young guest

I’ve been re-examining the basis for my faith (relationship with God) and my interpersonal relationships. Not going to write about this in much detail. I’m dry on words and everything else too.

On the rhythms of daily life –

Bible study: leading up to Easter my sister and I found the short clips of Jesus (old 1979 film) on our Bible app a helpful supplement to the passages themselves. We saw the gospels afresh, thought about what happened, had lots of questions and were challenged again to either believe or reject this as truth. She wasn’t impressed with the actors or special effects though!

Prayer:teach me to pray, Lord, teach me to pray.”

“Parenting”: I read this book about being busy sometime last year. The parenting section was about how we can make this task unnecessarily busy, consuming and complicated. This helps to simplify things when my sister eats McDonalds (she goes for the “real burgers” on the expensive Create Your Taste menu though!), adds chips to the shopping trolley, is addicted to her screen, doesn’t practice her instruments, answers the wrong question on her school assessment, or has some long list of things not done before bed.

“God doesn’t provide many specific instructions about the parent-child relationship, except that parents should teach their children about God (Deut 6:7; Prov. 1-9), discipline them (Prov 23:13; Heb 12:7-11), be thankful for them (Ps 127:3-5) and not exasperate them (Eph 6:4).” – Crazy Busy, Kevin DeYoung

Beauty: when I spend too much time in front of the mirror putting together my (a little bit hippie) outfit or wearing my (invisible) makeup –

“Do not let your adorning be external—the braiding of hair and the putting on of gold jewellery, or the clothing you wear but let your adorning be the hidden person of the heart with the imperishable beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which in God’s sight is very precious.” – 1 Peter 3:3-4

And what is this about?!

“When Jehu came to Jezreel, Jezebel heard of it. And she painted her eyes and adorned her head and looked out of the window.” – ‭‭2 Kings‬ ‭9:30‬

Exercise: when I run or gym –

“for while bodily training is of some value, godliness is of value in every way, as it holds promise for the present life and also for the life to come.” – 1 Timothy 4:8

Hospitality: dad doesn’t like having people over, so it rarely happened. But with both parents being away for weeks at a time, our well air-conditioned, somewhat empty living room has become the default place for various dinner gatherings. I get it that hospitality is about loving and fellowship… but preparing by prayer?

“So often when I prepare for people to be in my home, I spend all of my time cleaning the house, preparing a perfect meal and making everything and everyone appear just right. But do I take a moment to pray for our guests? Do I ask God to reveal to me any needs they might have so that our family might have the opportunity to minister to them?” – Hospitality vs Entertaining

One Comment

Leave a comment

